Club History

A meeting of eleven enthusiastic walkers took place on the 17th of March 1976 in the Cults Community Centre at which Mr Lawrence Jamieson, the Assistant Community Education worker was in the Chair, in response to many enquiries as to the existence of local hillwalking groups. The outcome of that initial meeting was that a steering committee, consisting of Neil Appleton, David Coleman, Gordon Forbes, Florence Fraser, and Neil Scot was formed. At the first meeting of the group it was suggested that the first walk would be up Peter Hill and it was ascended from Waullmill, descending by the stalkers path alongside the Glasspits Burn, crossing the Feugh by a footbridge long since removed.

Members travelled by mini-bus and a fleet of cars in those early days and usually three different routes were available to accommodate families. The leaders learned about the hills through first hand experience and, when Lawrence Jamieson suggested the Club tackle the Lairig an Laoigh through-walk from Aviemore to Linn of Dee, there were not sufficient numbers committed to justify a coach. The result was that two parties set out in mini buses, one to Loch Morlich and the other to the Linn of Dee, The two groups walked towards one another and when they met en-route, ignition keys were exchanged! This was a great adventure into the unknown for these early walkers many of whom were not sure whether they could walk the distance involved!

Click here to view Past Chairs of the Club

In May 1978 a proposed Constitution was circulated among members and after amendment, approved and then formally adopted. The Club Constitution has been amended, only slightly, over the years to reflect changing circumstances. See the current Club Constitution here

A number of events and activities were planned for 2016, our 40th Anniversary year. This included the walk in March 2016 which was to Peter’s Hill commemorating the first walk of the Club and an Anniversary Dinner at the Cults Hotel after the AGM in May.